You know that drinking and driving is not only dangerous but is also illegal, but you may not be aware of exactly how little alcohol can lead to a DWI charge and exactly how expensive such charges can be. DWI charges are serious charges that carry serious costs. While no two DWI charges cost exactly the same amount, there are some basic expenses that apply across the board.
The TxDOT DWI Billboards
Several years back, you may have seen a Texas Department of Transportation billboard or two stating that a Texas DWI would cost you about $17,000 and providing a link that breaks the cost down for you. The woman in question supposedly experienced all of the following:
Lost her driver’s license
Spent half a day in jail
Served 100 hours of community service
Spent two years on probation
Was required to take alcohol education classes
Paid towing costs, posted bail, and paid attorney fees and court costs
It is a lot, and it allegedly added up to $17,000 in expenses for the woman in question – who an independent research team confirms is a fictionalized character. Do not sleep so tight, however. Fictionalized character or not, a DWI is going to cost you – a lot. Further, it is difficult to know at the outset exactly how much it will cost you. In fact, the range of overall expenses related to DWI convictions in Texas is quite large.
Finally, it is important to point out that the hypothetical women’s case we just considered did not even touch on expenses such as those related to finding alternate transportation, increased insurance premiums, and fees for mandatory counseling.
Your DWI Case
There is absolutely no way to know exactly how much a DWI conviction will set you back, but there are some basic amounts that are fairly reliable, including:
With a first conviction, you could lose your driver’s license for up to a year and could be required to spend anywhere from 3 to 180 days in jail – all while being hit with a fine of up to $2,000.
With a second conviction, you will face harsher penalties, such as the loss of your driver’s license for up to two years and from one month to one year in jail – all while being hit with a fine of up to $4,000.
From here, the associated costs continue to rise.
If You Are Facing DWI Charges, Call an Experienced Killeen Criminal Defense Lawyer Now
DWI charges can be serious and costly charges – financially, socially, and emotionally. If you are facing DWI charges, Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Killeen, Texas, is an experienced criminal defense lawyer who prides himself on helping clients like you obtain the best possible resolutions for their cases. Your case is important, and Mr. Pritchard is here to help. For more information, please do not hesitate to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 today.