If you have been convicted of DWI in Texas, you are likely required to attend DWI class, and the type of class you attend will depend upon whether you are a first-time offender or have any additional DWI convictions. Regardless, you are responsible for the cost of the class, and you will need to pay in full before you can receive your certificate of completion. A better understanding of what to expect can help make the experience less stressful and more helpful.
What You Will Need
You are going to be attending DWI class, and you may think that merely showing up and paying attention should fulfill your obligations, but there are several things you are required to bring with you:
- The court case number for your DWI case
- The documents the court provided you that order you to take the DWI class in the first place
- Your driver's license or state-issued identification card and your Social Security number
Failing to attend any of the required DWI classes can put your driver’s license in jeopardy.
Classes for First-Time Offenders
A first DWI conviction is very likely to earn you the mandatory completion of a DWI Education Program (or DWI classes). The classes involved are intended to improve your understanding of how alcohol and other intoxicants affect your ability to drive safely. Further, you will be provided the opportunity to explore the patterns you engage in with relation to alcohol, which can help you strategize ways to avoid drinking and driving in the future. The critical elements of the curriculum include:
- Texas DWI laws and their attendant penalties
- How alcohol and other intoxicants affect your behavior and impede your ability to operate a vehicle safely
- How to recognize the signs of alcohol dependency
The duration of a standard DWI class is generally 12 hours, which is spread out over several days, and the cost is about $100. Typically, the course must be completed within 180 days of the order being handed down, but the court may extend this under exceptional circumstances.
Classes for Those with Multiple DWI Offenses
If you have been convicted of more than one DWI, the class you will be required to attend and complete will be more intensive and will focus more closely on intervention into what could be an alcohol problem. Your class will explore the following:
- The physical and psychological effects of alcohol and drugs
- How your drinking affects your loved ones
- The distinct advantages of 12-step programs
- Potential treatment options
It Is Time to Consult with an Experienced Lawyer
If you are facing DWI charges, whether it is the first time you have faced such charges or not, you need the kind of experienced legal guidance that Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Killeen, Texas, provides. Mr. Pritchard is a formidable criminal lawyer committed to building your strongest defense and fighting for your rights throughout the legal process. We are on your side, so please do not hesitate to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 for more information today.