Texas Officer Killed by Suspected Drunk Driver
Fox News reports that, in the very early morning hours of February 13, a police officer in Dallas was struck and killed by a man who is alleged to have been drunk behind the wheel. The officer was blocking the scene of a prior accident on the Dallas freeway when the fatal crash occurred. The officer’s precinct chief, Eddie Garcia, tweeted “Our department is once again mourning . . . Godspeed, my brother.”
The fatal crash involved the following details:
The officer was standing outside his marked patrol car – with the emergency lights rolling – on the northbound lanes of the North Central Expressway, where it meets with Walnut Hill Lane at about 1:45 AM on Saturday, February 13.
A speeding four-door Kia Forte slammed into the officer.
The officer was transported to Baylor Hospital, where he succumbed to his injuries.
The felled officer is survived by his wife, who is expecting their first child. The at-fault driver – who was not injured in the crash – is 32 years old, and he faces intoxication manslaughter charges on a police officer and intoxication assault charges. A female passenger is also being questioned regarding the specifics of the deadly crash.
The State of Texas Takes Drunk Driving Very Seriously
The State of Texas is serious about its drunk driving charges – especially when the crash results in serious injuries or a fatality. Drivers are considered legally intoxicated when they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more in Texas (and in nearly every other state in the nation). It is important to note, however, that you can face a DWI charge with a lower BAC if the police can prove that it impaired your ability to drive safely. The same laws apply when the motorist is manning a boat or a plane.
Even if the DWI charge is a first offense, it can carry up to 180 days in jail (with a mandatory minimum of 3 days behind bars), up to $2,000 in fines, and a driver’s license suspension of up to one year. The charges for repeat offenses increase from here. Intoxication manslaughter, on the other hand (as in the case above), is a second-degree felony that is punishable by 2 to 20 years in prison and by up to $10,000 in fines. The charge of intoxication manslaughter is fairly unique to the State of Texas – most other states incorporate the offense within vehicular manslaughter or DUI manslaughter charges.
Discuss Your Case with an Experienced Killeen Criminal Lawyer Today
Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Killeen, Texas, is a seasoned criminal lawyer who understands the magnitude of the charges you face and dedicates his practice to aggressively advocating for the legal rights and favorable case resolutions of clients like you. We are here to help, so please do not hesitate to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 today.