Dedicated Attorneys in Central Texas
Free Consultations  254.220.4225

License Suspension and DUI or DWI Charges

License Suspension and DUI or DWI Charges

If you have been slapped with a DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated) charge, it is very important that you recognize just how significant a conviction can be to your future. Better understanding the ramifications involved, including the impact of a license suspension – can help you better understand how important fighting for your legal rights can be.

The Social Component

In addition to the fines, jail time, and driver’s license suspension that can play a role in a DUI or DWI conviction, there is also the social component to consider. A conviction becomes part of your record, which – because it is accessible to the public – can affect you in all the following ways:

  • A prospective landlord can deny you the opportunity to rent a house or apartment.

  • You can be denied a home loan.

  • You can be denied a loan to further your education, but you can also be denied admission to a specific college or the right to live on campus.

  • You can be denied a new job.

  • You can lose your professional licensure.

  • Your standing in society can take a significant hit.

License Suspension If You Are Underage

The State of Texas takes a zero-tolerance stance when it comes to drivers under the age of 21 who are under the influence of alcohol. The maximum license-related penalties for such a conviction include:

  • For even the slightest BAC (blood alcohol content) reading – from .01 to .079 percent (with .08 being the limit for adults) – you can face a license suspension of up to six months.

  • If your BAC ranges from .08 to .149 and it is a first offense, you can face a one-year license suspension.

  • If the offense is your second, you could be looking at an 18-month suspension, and a third offense raises the length of the suspension to two years.

License Suspension If You Are of Age

If you are at least 21 years old, a first drunk-driving conviction can earn you a license suspension lasting from 90 days to one year. A second conviction doubles that and can lead to 180 days to two years without driving privileges. These penalties are, of course, in addition to any fines or jail time you face. It is important to remember that losing your right to drive affects your ability to get to and from work (and, thus, to continue earning a living), to continue caring for your family as effectively as possible, and much more. In other words, a driver’s license suspension is a penalty for which you should mount your strongest defense.

Call an Experienced Killeen Criminal Lawyer Today

The license suspension component of a DWI or DUI conviction alone can be seriously damaging, but Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Killeen, Texas, is an accomplished criminal lawyer with the experience, drive, and legal insight to help. For more information, please do not hesitate to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 today.

Categories: