Updated on August 22, 2022
Texas is one of only a few states that require a divorced person to wait before remarrying. In Texas, there is a 30-day waiting period. During this time, either party can appeal the divorce decree and reopen the divorce. Any new marriages within the 30 days are voidable and can be challenged by one of the parties.
Since Texas is a communal property state, any material change in a spouse’s assets during the 30 days allows the other spouse to question whether the property was owned before the divorce. The waiting period also gives both spouses time to rethink other issues, rather than moving on with their lives.
It should also be noted that there is a 60-day waiting period between filing for divorce and when a court can actually grant a divorce, making the waiting period between filing for divorce and remarriage 90 days.
Consult with a Killeen Divorce Lawyer
In some situations, you can have the 30-day waiting period waived by a judge with the help of a Killeen divorce lawyer. If you are considering a divorce or remarriage, turn to the Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard for the legal counsel you need at this time. Call us at (254) 781-4222 or contact us online.