What to Do if You Are Charged with Growing Marijuana in Texas
In the State of Texas, there is no law that prevents you from growing marijuana, but you can be charged with possession of the drug if you are caught doing so. One of the first steps you should take if you are charged with growing marijuana – or with any other drug-related charge – is to consult with a dedicated criminal attorney who has an impressive track record of successfully tackling these often-complicated charges.
Stay Silent on the Matter
If the police charge you with possession in relation to allegedly growing marijuana, it is time to take a vow of silence until after you have consulted with an experienced criminal attorney. While you may feel the urge to explain the situation to the police and you may believe that your story is compelling, resist this urge. Other than sharing the most basic identifying information about yourself, you should exercise your right to remain silent until your attorney arrives. The most important point to remember is that the person interviewing you is skilled at eliciting self-incriminating statements from interviewees like you and that anything you do say can and will be used against you moving forward.
The Consequences You Will Face
The charge of marijuana possession can vary from a misdemeanor to a felony, dependent upon the amount of the drug in question. When it comes to the cultivation of (or growing) marijuana, the charges you face will hinge upon the total weight of the plants that you are alleged to have grown. Consider the following:
If you are charged with possession of up to 2 ounces of marijuana, you are facing a Class B misdemeanor, which comes with fines of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail.
If you are charged with possession of from 2 to 4 ounces of marijuana, you are facing a Class A misdemeanor, which comes with fines of up to $4,000 and up to one year in jail.
If you are charged with possession of from 4 ounces to 5 pounds of marijuana, you are facing a state jail felony, which comes with fines of up to $10,000 and from 180 days to two years in jail.
If you are charged with possession of from 5 to 50 pounds of marijuana, you are facing a third-degree felony, which comes with up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of from 2 (mandatory minimum) to 10 years.
If you are charged with possession of from 50 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana, you are facing a second-degree felony, which comes with up to $10,000 in fines and a prison sentence of from 2 (mandatory minimum) to 20 years.
You Need an Experienced Killeen Criminal Attorney on Your Side
Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Killeen, Texas, is a formidable criminal attorney who is passionate about helping his clients prevail over criminal charges, including possession charges. Mr. Pritchard is on your side, so please do not wait to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 for more information today.