Felony DWI in Texas

police car, alcohol, and car keys

I want to help you obtain the most favorable outcome possible in your case.

  • Contact me today for a FREE case strategy meeting.
  • Available in-person, by phone, or by video.
Brett Pritchard Law

A charge of DWI in Texas is an extremely serious matter that can lead to jail time, harsh penalties, license suspension, and social stigma. If that driving while intoxicated charge, however, is a felony, it is an even more serious situation, and it is time to consult with an experienced Round Rock criminal defense lawyer

What Elevates the Charge?

In Texas, there are four distinct circumstances that can lead to a felony DWI charge, including:

  • If the DWI arrest equals a third (following two convictions)

  • If you had a minor under the age of 15 in the vehicle when you were arrested

  • If the charge is intoxication assault in which someone else was seriously injured in the accident you caused

  • If the charge is intoxication manslaughter

Attendant Penalties

Texas is exceptionally tough on crime, and felony DWIs are no exception. 

A Third DWI

If the charge you face is at least a third DWI, a conviction can lead to all of the following:

  • From 180 days to 2 years of license suspension

  • From 2 to 10 years in prison

  • Fines of up to $10,000

DWI with a Minor

If you face a charge of DWI with a minor in the car, it is what is known as a state jail felony, and a conviction can lead to all of the following:

  • From 90 days to 2 years of license suspension

  • From 6 months to 2 years in jail

  • Fines of up to $10,000

Intoxication Assault and Intoxication Manslaughter 

Intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter charges carry penalties that are very similar to charges for DWI with a minor, but prison time for intoxication manslaughter can extend up to 20 years.

Bringing Your Strongest Defense

Regardless of what the police tell you – and regardless of the evidence they say they have against you – you are innocent until they can prove otherwise. The most important first step toward building your strongest defense against a felony DWI charge is working closely with an experienced criminal defense lawyer who will set about doing all of the following on your behalf:

  • Representing you at your administrative license revocation hearing to fight for your driving privileges and to ascertain whatever evidence the prosecution has on you

  • Identifying any violations of your constitutional rights, such as lack of reasonable suspicion to stop you in the first palace or improper search and seizure of your property or person

  • Challenging your field sobriety tests, including your breath and blood tests 

You Need an Experienced Round Rock Criminal Defense Attorney in Your Corner

Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Round Rock, Texas, is a focused criminal defense lawyer who understands the gravity of your charge and situation and is committed to skillfully defending your rights – in pursuit of your case’s most beneficial resolution. For more information about how we can help, please do not wait to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 today.


Related Posts
  • Meth Charges in Texas Read More
  • What Does It Mean to Plead No Contest? Read More
  • Should You Take the Stand in Your Texas Criminal Case? Read More