As you may know, your driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. In most cases, licenses get suspended because of traffic violations and a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) suspends drivers’ licenses to keep roads safe and prevent unfit drivers from hurting other people. If your driver’s license has been suspended, you may have options to get your license back.
A Georgetown criminal lawyer can help you get your driver’s license reinstated as soon as possible. Schedule a free case review with our lawyers at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard to discuss your particular case.
When Can Your Driver’s License Be Suspended in Texas?
In Texas, a driver’s license can be suspended due to multiple moving violations. A license is suspended if a driver has:
4 moving violations within 12 months; or
7 moving violations within 24 months.
While a suspension is automatic once a driver commits a specific number of violations within a specified period, the driver has 20 days to contest the suspension. Even if the court decides to suspend your driver’s license, you have a right to appeal the suspension to get your driving privileges back.
In addition to accumulating multiple moving violations within 12 to 24 months, your driver’s license can be suspended after a DWI conviction or causing bodily injury or death in a car accident while driving without insurance.
Aside from the moving violations, your driver’s license can be suspended for criminal offenses unrelated to operating a motor vehicle. For example, the Texas DPS may suspend your driver’s license if you are under the age of 21 and are caught possessing, buying, or consuming alcohol or drugs. Additionally, your driver’s license can be suspended in Texas if you fail to pay child support.
How Long Will Your Driver’s License Be Suspended?
The length of the license suspension depends on a variety of factors. A hearing officer will have the discretionary authority to determine how long your driver’s license will be suspended. Typically, license suspensions range from 30 to 90 days, though a license can also be suspended for 180 days or even longer.
The length of the suspension also depends on the type of the violation and the offender’s age. A driver over the age of 21 convicted of driving while intoxicated can get their driver’s license suspended for two years.
How to Reinstate a Suspended Driver’s License in Texas?
If the DPS suspended your driver’s license, you could get your license reinstated by completing the specific requirements for reinstatement and paying all associated fees. Thus, if your license has been suspended, you need to do the following three things to get your license reinstated as soon as possible:
Wait until their mandatory suspension period expires
Pay the applicable reinstatement fees (the fees vary depending on the type of violation that led to the suspension)
Complete all the requirements for getting your license reinstated
The appropriate steps for getting your driver's license reinstated depend on the reason for the suspension. Consult with an attorney to determine how you can reinstate your suspended license in Texas. Your attorney will help you contest or appeal a suspension of your driver’s license to ensure that you get your driving privileges back.
Getting Your Driver’s License Reinstated Through the Texas DPS
Once you have completed all the requirements for reinstatement and paid the associated reinstatement fees, you can use the Texas DPS online license eligibility service to get your license reinstated.
Provide the following information to use the online service:
Your driver’s license number
The last four digits of your Social Security Number
Proof of payment of the associated fees
In addition, you may be required to submit documents that prove your compliance and eligibility for reinstatement. It is not advisable to drive with a suspended driver’s license because doing so can result in harsh penalties in Texas.
What Else Are You Required to Do to Get Your Driver’s License Reinstated?
You may also be required to do other things to get your suspended driver’s license reinstated. The exact things you must do for reinstatement depend on the type of your suspension, your age, the reason for the suspension, and other factors.
Those whose driver’s license was suspended for a medical reason may be required to submit their medical records and pass a driving test to get their license reinstated. Drivers convicted of DWI may be required to pass an alcohol education program and demonstrate proof of completion of the program. Additionally, a driver whose license was suspended due to a DWI conviction may be required to install an ignition interlock device to get their license reinstated.
When a driver’s license is suspended because you were driving while uninsured, you may be required to submit evidence of valid auto insurance and other documents.
Discuss your particular situation with a skilled attorney to find out what you need to do to get your suspended driver’s license reinstated in Texas.
Contact a Georgetown Criminal Lawyer to Get Your Driver’s License Reinstated
If your driver’s license was suspended due to a criminal conviction or multiple moving violations, it is advisable to contact a knowledgeable lawyer to discuss your eligibility for reinstatement and ensure that you can get your license reinstated as soon as possible.
At The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard, our criminal lawyers are prepared to help you navigate the license reinstatement process if your driver’s license was suspended in Texas. Our attorneys understand the necessary procedures to help you reinstate your driver’s license and get you back on the road.
Our attorneys are results-driven and dedicated DWI lawyers who can help you fight the underlying offense causing your license suspension to ensure that you can reinstate your license. Schedule a free case evaluation with our criminal lawyers by calling (254) 220-4225. We have offices in Georgetown, Belton, Harker Heights, and across Texas.