Exposing yourself in any way that is deemed indecent in the eyes of the law is against the law, and a conviction for indecent exposure comes with hefty fines and harsh penalties. This is not to mention the immense social stigma involved. If you find yourself facing a charge of indecent exposure, you should not delay consulting with an experienced Coryell County criminal attorney.
Is It Indecent Exposure?
The law can be quite prudish, and something that you might consider to be a case of letting your hair down may be regarded by the law as full-on indecent exposure. Even if your actions were not sexual in nature and no minors were involved, a conviction could land you on the sex offender registry (which is exactly as serious as it sounds). Your intention at the time that you are accused of having exposed yourself indecently can play a significant role in your case. Consider the following:
Were you running from your pool into your home with only a skimpy towel as cover?
Did you accidentally lock yourself out of your home in a state of undress, and you were attempting to go back inside?
Were you just engaging in a harmless prank in which you were good-naturedly mooning the opposing team at a sporting event?
In these instances, there is clearly no intention on your part to arouse or seriously offend anyone else, which may keep the prosecution from pursuing the matter wholeheartedly. In other words, your perceived intention matters.
Indecent Exposure: The Definition
Indecent exposure in Texas is defined as an individual who – unbidden – exposes his or her own genitalia or anus to someone else with the specific intention of arousing or sexually gratifying himself, herself, or anyone else in the process. Additionally, the act can qualify as indecent exposure if the individual simply did not concern himself or herself with whether or not the action in question would alarm or offend someone else.
Indecent Exposure and the Serious Consequences of a Conviction
A first-time charge for indecent exposure is likely to leave you facing a relatively lenient Class B misdemeanor, which carries up to 180 days in jail and fines of up to $2,000. If the charge is your second, however, you could find yourself facing a felony charge, which means more time behind bars and steeper fines. If your indecent exposure is alleged to focus on a child who is not yet 17, the charge can be elevated to indecency with a child by exposure, which is also a felony offense.
Your Future Is Too Important Not to Consult with an Experienced Coryell County Criminal Lawyer
Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard in Coryell County, Texas, is a focused criminal lawyer who understands the gravity of the charge you face and is committed to aggressively fighting for your rights – in zealous pursuit of your case’s optimal outcome. For more information, please do not hesitate to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 today.