Providing Answers About Child Support in Killeen, TX
During a divorce, one of the first questions you will be asked is about the child support arrangement. In Texas, child support is intended to provide the financial security that can preserve a child's standard of living and help them to grow and thrive in the future. Under Texas law, child support will last until the child turns 18, except in circumstances where the child is determined to have significant disability.
At the Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard, our Killeen child support lawyer has 20 years of experience. With extensive knowledge of Texas child support laws, we can help you with a variety of child support needs, including modification or enforcement of your existing child support order.
Grateful my case is being handled by the best lawyers in Killeen.Danishka M.
Texas has established laws regarding child support that are designed to ensure that both parents contribute to the financial well-being of their children.
How Is Child Support Determined in Texas?
The guidelines can be found in the Texas Family Code, Chapter 154. When devising a child support arrangement during divorce proceedings, courts use a mathematical formula based on Texas state law guidelines. Based on the number of children, income of the noncustodial parent, and other factors such as medical expenses and child care costs. The formula applies a percentage of your monthly earnings to figure out what you will pay in child support. Currently, there is a cap of $8,550.
In divorce proceedings, Texas percentage guidelines for support are as follows:
- 1 child: 20% of monthly earnings, maximum of $1,710
- 2 children: 25% of monthly earnings, maximum of $2,137.50
- 3 children: 30% of monthly earnings, maximum of $2,565
- 4 children: 35% of monthly earnings, maximum of $3,097.50
- 5 children: 40% of monthly earnings, maximum of $3,420
- 6 children or more: no less than 40% of monthly earnings
Who Pays Child Support in TX?
Both parents have a legal obligation to provide financial support for their children, regardless of the parents’ marital status. Typically, the noncustodial parent (the parent who spends less time with the child) pays child support to the custodial parent (the parent who spends more time with the child).
Enforcement of Child Support in Texas
The Texas Attorney General’s Office can assist in enforcing child support orders if the noncustodial parent fails to pay. The office can withhold wages, intercept tax refunds, suspend a driver’s license, and take other legal actions to collect overdue child support.
Duration of Texas Child Support
In Texas, child support typically continues until the child turns 18 or graduates from high school, whichever is later. However, support may continue beyond this age if the child has special needs or is still in school.
It's important to note that each child support case is unique, and the laws and guidelines can be complex. Contact our Killeen child support lawyers for more specific information regarding your situation in a free consultation.
Although there is a set mathematical formula used for figuring out support payments in Texas, the amount paid may be increased or decreased based on the children's needs. In many circumstances, the support allocated during your divorce may not be adequate.
Either parent may request a modification of the child support order if there has been a significant change in circumstances, such as a job loss or a significant increase in income. The modification must be approved by the court.
If you need to increase or decrease payments, our qualified Killeen child support lawyer may be able to help you make a compelling case for a modification.
- Thousands of Clients Helped
- Honest Advice & Counsel
- Military Discount
- Emergency Appointments
- "Hands-On" Approach
- Highly Recommended
- Track Record of Success
- Free Initial Consultations