What Am I Required to Do after a Car Accident?

flipped car

I want to help you obtain the most favorable outcome possible in your case.

  • Contact me today for a FREE case strategy meeting.
  • Available in-person, by phone, or by video.
Brett Pritchard Law

If you have been injured by another driver’s negligence in a car accident, it can leave you at a complete and utter loss. While no one expects you to perform like a professional car accident victim in such a situation, it is a good idea to know what the law expects of you and the steps that you should follow to help you help yourself.

Exchanging Information with the Other Driver

If you are involved in a car accident, the State of Texas requires you to exchange the following information with the other motorist involved, including:

  • Your name and contact information, including your address

  • Your driver’s license number

  • Information about your vehicle, including its license plate number, make, model, year, color, registration number, and vehicle identification number (VIN), which is usually found on the car’s dash or on the inside of the driver’s door

  • Insurance information that includes the name of your provider and your policy number (Texas Car Insurance Explained)

Related Article: Failure to Identify after a Car Accident

Rendering Aid

If someone at the scene is injured and you are able to render aid, you are required to do so. This can include calling 911 (which you should do as soon after pulling over as possible if anyone at the scene is injured) or even transporting the injured party to an emergency room for the medical attention he or she needs – if this is a better option. If there is something you can do to help an injured party in need, rendering aid is the right thing to do. (Do Not Delay Seeking Medical Care after a Car Accident)

Notifying the Police

In the State of Texas, you are required to report any car accident that causes more than $1,000 in damages – or any physical injuries – to the police. The fact is that it does not take much vehicle damage to amount to $1,000, so this rule pertains to nearly every accident except the mildest fender benders. It is important to note that calling 911 takes care of your obligation to call the police because 911 notifies the police and emergency personnel accordingly.

Bolstering Your Claim

In addition to doing what you are required to do by law, it is a good idea to collect evidence at the accident scene if you are able to do so. This can include taking pictures and videos that capture the accident’s aftermath from every angle and obtaining eyewitness accounts of the accident along with eyewitness contact information. Jotting down your recollections of exactly how the accident happened as soon afterward as possible can also go a long way toward strengthening your claim. (Read more about the importance of evidence in your car accident claim)

Do Not Wait to Consult with an Experienced Killeen Car Accident Attorney

If a negligent motorist leaves you injured in a car accident, Brett Pritchard at The Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard – proudly serving Killeen, Texas – is a dedicated car accident attorney who understands the difficult nature of your situation and is committed to skillfully advocating for your claim’s best possible resolution. For more information about what we can do to help you, please do not wait to contact or call us at 254-501-4040 today.


Related Posts
  • Prepare for the Winter Driving Ahead Read More
  • How to Deal with an Insurance Company After a Car Accident in Texas? Read More
  • Staying Safe on Texas Roads as the Weather Changes Read More