If you are driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, this is considered to be a DWI in Texas. “DUI” is commonly used interchangeably, however, the charge in Texas is “Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). A person may also be charged with DWI if they are under the influence of drugs, inhalants, or other intoxicating substances while operating a motor vehicle. DWI is a criminal offense that can result in significant penalties.
At Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard, our Killeen DWI attorneys have more than 20 years of experience. We understand the complexities of Texas DWI law and can help you navigate this process to fight your drugged or drunk driving charges and protect your rights.
Grateful my case is being handled by the best lawyers in Killeen.Danishka M.
A person may be charged with DWI if they are operating a motor vehicle and their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is above a legally established level.
In Texas, a person may be charged with DWI if their BAC is above:
- 0.08% if the person is 21 years of age or older
- 0.04% if the person is operating a commercial vehicle
- 0.02% if the person is under 21 years of age
Other factors, such as the person's driving behavior and the officer's observations, may be used to determine whether the person was intoxicated.
Penalties for DWI in Texas
In Texas, if you are the driver or passenger, you can be fined up to $500 for simply having an open container of alcohol in a vehicle. If you are stopped for DWI, the penalties are even more serious.
If you refuse to take a blood or breath test, your driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days. The penalties for DWI is different depending on your number of convictions:
First DWI Offense
- A fine up to $2,000.
- 3 - 180 days in jail.
- Driver’s license suspension for up to a year.
- An annual fee of $1,000 - $2,000 for 3 years to retain your driver’s license.
Second DWI Offense
- A fine up to $4,000.
- 1 month to a year in jail.
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 2 years.
- An annual fee of $1,000; $1,500; or $2,000 for 3 years to retain your diver’s license.
If you get two or more convictions within 5 years, you are required to install an ignition interlock which prevents drivers from operating the vehicle while impaired by alcohol. You must blow into the device and if your breath alcohol level exceeds the accepted level, the vehicle will not start.
If you have been charged with DWI, you need an attorney who is experienced in DWI defense. At Law Office of Brett H. Pritchard, our Killeen DWI attorneys have successfully represented thousand of Texans in various, complex cases. We have the proven compassion, insight, and tenacity to help you protect your rights, freedom, and future from even the toughest DWI charges.
Related Blogs on DWI
- Thousands of Clients Helped
- Honest Advice & Counsel
- Military Discount
- Emergency Appointments
- "Hands-On" Approach
- Highly Recommended
- Track Record of Success
- Free Initial Consultations